The views from the top of the mountain make this trip worth the effort. We didn’t actually do any touring within Königswinter town; we went directly to the Drachenfelsbahn station. There are other sights to see within the town itself. Train tickets are available for one way (up or down) or round trip. There are well maintained pedestrian paths to get to the top of the mountain.

City name: Königswinter

Featured Attraction: Cog railway, Drachenfels castle ruin, Schloss Drachenburg

Web Site: This is the website for the Drachenfelsbahn cog railway. It is in English and also lists other popular sites in the area.  http://drachenfelsbahn.de/index.php/en/ Drachenburg:

This website is for Schloss Drachenburg and is in English:  http://www.schloss-drachenburg.de/index_EN.html

Tourist Information Location: No tourist information center for the city. The closest would be the cog railway station. It is located at:

Drachenfelsstraße 53, 53639 Königswinter

Walking tours: Self-guided tour of Schloss Drachenburg and its grounds. Ask for the English translation at the entrance and they will give you a book that describes everything. There is a deposit required but the book itself is free.

Driving and parking: The station was easy to find and there were several parking lots in the vicinity. There are no roads leading directly to the attractions we visited; you must either take the train or walk.

Distance from Wiesbaden: 1 ½ hours, 126 kilometers

Food: There is a restaurant at the castle ruins on top of the mountain. There were also several places to eat within walking distance of the cog railway station.

Hotels: We did this as a day trip. The Drachenfelsbahn website has links to hotels in the area.

Special events: Several throughout the year. See the applicable websites for further information.

Drachenfelsbahn approaching the mid-point station at Drachenburg.

Drachenfelsbahn approaching the mid-point station at Drachenburg.

Return to post

Loading
Center map
Traffic
Bicycling
Transit
Google MapsGet Directions
 

About the author: Sean

 

After 31 years, I retired as a marine engineer from the U.S. Coast Guard. Travels with the service took me to Canada, the Caribbean, Australia, Alaska and points north, and Antarctica.

I’m now a stay at home husband, taking care of travel arrangements and our two cats. I also do volunteer work in the local community.


Website: http://travelsandtipplescom.ipage.com/